Anne Frank Project

SUNY Buffalo State

1300 Elmwood Ave.

Donald Savage, 213

Buffalo, NY 14222

  Drew Kahn, Director

Drew Kahn, Director

Drew Kahn is Professor of Theater at SUNY Buffalo State where he teaches acting and devised theater (President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching/SUNY) and directs productions (Kennedy Center Award).  He is the Founding Director of The Anne Frank Project, a multi-layered social justice initiative at SUNY Buffalo State that utilizes the wisdom of Anne Frank as a springboard for the examination of genocide and intolerance through the lens of storytelling and performance.  He presents and teaches internationally on the universal language of theater and the intersection of storytelling, conflict resolution and community building—most recently in Rwanda, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Burma, Viet Nam, Morocco, New Zealand, Greece, Croatia and Turkey (Toby Ticktin Back Award for Holocaust Education, Community Leader Award, National Federation for Just Communities).  Professor Kahn has extensive acting experience in professional theater (Andre’ DeShields’ original cast of Saint Tous), feature film (Paramount Pictures’ Necessary Roughness) as well as several television and commercial credits.  In Buffalo, New York, he was the host of WKBW-TV’s (ABC) AM Buffalo for six years, hosted the WNED (PBS) documentary Saving a Landmark:  The Darwin Martin House  (National Telly Award), is a regular narrator with the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra and has numerous local stage credits including In a Dark, Dark House, Lobby Hero, A Cat On A Hot Tin Roof and Baltimore Waltz (ArtVoice Artie Award). He received an MFA from Southern Methodist University and a BA from San Diego State University.  His favorite roles are husband to his wife Maria and dad to his children Sam and Nate.

  Eve Everette, Assistant Director .  Photo Credit: Tim White

Eve Everette, Assistant Director. Photo Credit: Tim White

Eve Everette is the Assistant Director for the Anne Frank Project at SUNY Buffalo State where she curates the annual Social Justice Festival, co-directs devised theatre, and teaches drama-based education. Eve holds an MA in Classical and Contemporary Text for Acting from the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland. She received a BA in Theatre and a BA in Art History with honors from SUNY Buffalo State. Eve trained at Canada’s National Voice Intensive and Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre in London, and studied art history in Italy. Eve recently acted in the BFG at the Theatre of Youth, and directed “It Happened Here” for the Friends of the Buffalo Story (summer 2014). She is the Installation Director for The Apology Project for pounds per square in performance (Toronto, CA) at Silo City (Summer 2016). Eve is a board member of the Holocaust Resource Center of Buffalo, and a  CommUnity Build/IEEE Facilitator for the National Federation for Just Communities of WNY. Eve travels a lot, and enjoys running, camping, and cooking.

AFP Advisory Committee

Dolores Battle

Lana Benatovich

Sister Charlene Fontana

Tamara Horstman-Riphahn

Mara Koven-Gelman

Kara Harris

Josephine B. Kearney

William Lin 

Barbara Nelson

Alice Pennisi

Deborah Renzi

Irene Sipos

Win Thant

Carol Townsend

Aimable Twagilimana

Sophia Veffer